Route Down.

Its been nearly two weeks since my last post,unfortunately the delay is due to me being massively drunk and crying all day every day…………….not really I have just been really busy at work and didn’t have much to say.

Since my last post I have sung and played ukulele on stage for the first time (scary) and had my first sober birthday since I was about 15 (boring),started talking to someone I haven’t spoken to properly for a while (frustrating) AND received an email from the one and only GPS Kevin.

A couple of weeks back GPS Kev asked me to send him a list of places I wanted to visit on my trip. Not really knowing much about America I didn’t really know what to say so I just told him I wanted to see ‘big stuff’ hoping that he would say ‘Ah big stuff,I know just the route for you…….buddy’ and that would be that. Unfortunately he needed a bit more info from me than that so I asked my friends on Facebook for recommendations.

The recommendations came in thick and fast,from the Hoover dam to Yosemite national park and one that I had somehow totally forgotten about THE JACK DANIELS DISTILLERY I have heard stories about this place from my friend Niki who had visited it a few years ago,its going to be a bit of a massive detour but I am aiming to be medication free and as happy as happy can possibly be by the time I fly to New York so all those extra miles will be worth it when I am soaking neck deep in a barrel of ol’ number 7.

Another excellent suggestion was this list from my friend Cara –
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_world%27s_largest_roadside_attractions#Pennsylvania

This is a list of the world’s largest roadside attractions that can be found in America.

The list contains everything from the worlds largest goose –

To the worlds largest kaleidoscope (a word I have typed so much recently that I now know how to spell it) –

Look at its face hahahahah !

I decided that seeing as many of the ‘worlds largest’ stuff would be a bit of a theme for the trip,so I put together a list of all the places that I wanted to visit along the way and sent it off over the pond to GPS K.

A few days later I heard back from Kev and Kev was pleased,the list was ‘just what he was looking for’ and he had added all the places I had listed to a google map that we can both edit.
Screen Shot 2014-12-18 at 12.27.51
I spent an hour or so adding some of the ‘worlds largest’ stuff that I wanted to stop at,in just three states I will see the worlds largest shoe,clothes peg,kaleidoscope,button,yogi bear,ketchup bottle,Wind chime,golf tee,knitting needles,crochet hook (what is one of these ?) and rocking chair.

Now obviously it wont be possible to visit absolutely every thing I add to the map,I only have a limited amount of time and I don’t want the trip to turn into some kind of endurance ride but the map is a kind of short list that me and GPS Kev can whittle down until we are a left with a route that is physically possible without having to ride 400 miles a day.

PROGRESS !

So whats next ? Keep adding to the map,keep buying stuff that I need,keep talking to people about the trip and getting ideas and most importantly I have set myself the goal of having the tickets for both me and my scoot bought and paid for by the 19th of January if I dont achieve this goal then I am going to give up on the whole idea and go back to being a full time miserable bastard.

Thanks for reading,the fact that people are still showing an interest is still a bit baffling and at the same time really encouraging.

4 thoughts on “Route Down.

  1. This is a wicked theme. There was something similar to this in an episode of Raising Hope once. Though I don’t remember what Burt went to see. I’ll look into that for you…. x

    Like

  2. I am in Tucson, AZ and run a scooter club here. We would love to meet up with you and hear your story, if you happen to ride through the area. Be well. Ride safe and best wishes on much success.

    Like

Leave a comment