Day 4 – Out numbered.

(I am about 5 beers in and havent eaten since breakfast so bare,bear,barere with me)

In the last two days I have ridden 629 miles !

Today was a good day,I woke up around seven got up had breakfast (pancakes,maple syrup.eggs and toast as well as a couple of complimentary hairs) and hit the road to get petrol and visit the Harley Davidson factory for a tour. I was feeling a bit nervous about being on the road today after yesterday and my ankle was still pretty painful.

When I got there I parked up next to all the other bikes and then realised that the sign said Harley parking only so out of fear of coming back and finding my scooter booted over I moved it to a another space.

hs

The next Harley tour wasnt for an hour and to be honest it sounded a bit shit, ‘youll get to go inside the factory’ (youll get to watch people and machines welding stuff) ‘and youll get to go to places only the workers normally get to go’ (the cafeteria). So instead I took a walk round the visitor centre,met an English couple from Surrey who thought I was mad  and me and FF tried on a few bikes for size.

fh4 FH3 fh2 fh1

I bought real Franco a Harley bandana from the gift shop as well as some headphones as mine were destroyed in the crash of 2015.

I then headed off on my three hour trek to Bedford PA. The roads from York to Bedford were amazing and I would have happily stayed on them all day. I spent about 60 miles on the US 30 (Lincoln highway),this road was smooth,wide and surrounded by beautiful country side and there was very little traffic. I had to climb a fair few hills and dropped down to about 35mph in some places but the down hill,twisty turny sections more than made up for it.

I passed through lots of little towns and a place called ‘Mr Ed’s elephant collection’ which looked amazing but it was closed. I also saw a load of birds eating a road kill baby deer at the side of the road..

road5 road4 road2 road1 farm2 farm1

I reached my hotel in Bedford in just under three hours and was greeted by a load of bikes and an old guy (sorry if you are reading this)  called Paul and his lovely wife Lauretta. We got talking about scooters,he has a fair old collection and he told me that it is the Kawasaki Concourse Owners club rally this weekend and that they were all staying at the same hotel as me.

The battery on my scooter was a bit buggered,I wont bore you with details but I rode off to try and find somewhere to get it fixed. I stopped at a car audio place and was helped by a guy whos name I cant remember. His mum is English and she married an American service man and then moved back over here with him. He wouldn’t except any money for the work he did so I said I would buy him a beer next time he is in the UK.

I managed to find my way back to the hotel without getting lost and even more bikes had appeared, I was out numbered again !

kw

They were a really nice genuine group of guys who took great interest in what I was doing while at the same time thinking I was mad. I got talking to one guy in particular at the bar who is a retired professor he packs his bags and rides his bike around the country for about three months every year. We talked about travelling,the royal family,David Cameron,weed,booze,girls and ISIS,the usual.

There were two pretty unbelievable stories on the news. One was about a guy who went to drop his kids off at school/day care,dropped one off but forgot to drop the baby off and left her in the back of the car while he got the train to work. The other was about a guy who chucked his kid off a cliff because he didnt want to pay child support.

Anyway I drank beer with the bikers and they told me of some cool places to visit,I’ll hopefully bump into the at the flight 93 memorial tomorrow.

If you are reading this KCOG thanks for making me feel so welcome and the beers,ride safe.

Its now 23:40,I havent done anything I was meant to do this evening and I need to go to bed but instead I am sat here typing this so you better appreciate it !

Oh yeh and my ankle looks like its becoming zombified.
ank2 ank

7 thoughts on “Day 4 – Out numbered.

  1. Really enjoying the blog – a great read Tipper! Not so sure about the shots of pale grazed flesh! Just as well it was your knee and ankle you injured and nothing else…

    Like

  2. Matt?
    I hope this day has gone far better for you……stop falling!

    Anyways, any idea when you will be at Scooterworks Chicago?
    Time permitting I might try to meet you.

    Robby

    Like

Leave a comment